Matt Schultheis-74.jpg


•Palmer Dixon Prize (for most outstanding work composed at Juilliard; Columbia In Old Age) (2021)

•Finalist—ASCAP Morton Gould Young Composer Awards (2020)

•Three BMI Student Composer Awards (2017, 20182019)

•Honorable Mention—University of Miami Frost School of Music Ensemble Ibis Composition Competition (2019)

•IU New Music Ensemble Commission (2019)

•SCI/ASCAP Commission (2018)

•First prize (State and Southern Division levels)—Music Teachers National Association Composition Competition, 2016

•First prize—Washington Music Teachers Association Young Composer Competition (2014)

•Merit Winner—National YoungArts Foundation (2016)


Matthew Schultheis (b. 1997) is an American composer and pianist. A recipient of the 2020 Irene Diamond Graduate Fellowship, he is currently pursuing a master's degree in composition at The Juilliard School, studying with Matthias Pintscher. In 2019, he earned his bachelor's degree from the Indiana University Jacobs School of Music. Other principal teachers in composition have included Claude Baker, David Dzubay, Sven-David Sandström, and Aaron Travers. 


Winner of three consecutive BMI Student Composer Awards, he has received additional awards from ASCAP, SCI, the Music Teachers National Association, and the National YoungArts Foundation. In 2021, his first work for orchestra, Columbia, In Old Age, received the Palmer Dixon Prize from The Juilliard School, and was premiered by the Tokyo Symphony Orchestra. Other works have been performed by such soloists and ensembles as the Attacca, Mivos, JACK, and Del Sol Quartets; the IU New Music Ensemble; Sound Icon Ensemble; Claire Chase; Jenny Lin; and Sō Percussion; and in festivals at Bowdoin, Brevard, and the EAMA–Nadia Boulanger Institute in Paris.

An accomplished pianist, he studied at IU with Jean-Louis Haguenauer and Winston Choi. Actively involved in performing new music, he was a member and frequent featured soloist of the Indiana University New Music Ensemble from 2016–2019. Performances as a soloist with that ensemble include György Ligeti's Piano Concerto (2018), the American premiere of Bernd Richard Deutsch's Mad Dog (2017), and Carlos Sánchez-Gutierrez's concerto New Short Stories (2019).


•Untitled work for horn, harp, and 2 percussionists for students of the Paris Conservatory (2021)

Intimacies: three studies for thirteen players (2021)

•Untitled short work for Miami City Ballet (2022)

Two Anthems for trombone and organ (commission from twoRESONATE) (TBD)


•New Music On The Point (2019)

•Bowdoin Music Festival (2018)

•EAMA-Nadia Boulanger Institute (2017)

•Brevard Sumer Institute (2015)

•Boston University Tanglewood Institute—Young Artist Composition Program (2014)

•Oberlin Conservatory—Composition Workshops (2012 and 2013)